Digital Masterworks II

Pärt & Tchaikovsky

March 26, 2021 at 7pm
Available Online For 30 Days
Lucas Richman, conductor

Passion and reflection collide in this program of dynamic Eastern European works both new and classic

What’s Interesting About This Concert

  • Estonian composer Arvo Pärt, born in 1935, employs a minimalist style and self-invented techniques as the BSO performs one of his works for the first time
  • Russian composer Rodion Shchedrin turns familiar themes from Bizet’s Carmen into something entirely new in his adaptation for strings and percussion, a true showcase for BSO percussionists
  • Tchaikovsky’s Serenade for Strings is beloved by audiences and players alike

The Program

  • Arvo Pärt | Cantus In Memoriam Benjamin Britten
  • Rodion Shchedrin| Carmen Suite
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky | Serenade for Strings