Masterworks I

Scandinavian Splendor

October 1, 2023 at 3pm
Collins Center for the Arts
Lucas Richman, conductor
Margarita Shevchenko, piano

Journey to Sweden, Norway, and Finland with music that inspires awe and reflection.


  • Andrée | Concert Overture, D major
  • Grieg | Piano Concerto in A minor
  • Sibelius |Symphony No. 5, E-flat major

What’s Interesting About This Concert

  • Sibelius’s Symphony No. 5 famously evokes stirring images from nature, including the call and flight of swans
  • Guest soloist Margarita Shevchenko is celebrated for her command of the keyboard and painterly ability to evoke colors from the instrument
  • Elfrida Andrée was a little-known Swedish composer from the late 19th and early 20th century; her works are just now being re-discovered