Masterworks III

Past, Present, Future: Bach and Beyond

January 28, 2024 at 3pm
Collins Center for the Arts
Lucas Richman, conductor
Awadagin Pratt, piano


Inventive, thought-provoking, and moving new works are paired with pristine examples of classical style in this program that explores the past, present and future of classical music.


  • Shields | World Premiere
  • Bach | Keyboard Concerto in A, BWV 1055
  • Montgomery | Rounds
  • Mendelssohn | Symphony No. 4 in A major, Op. 90, “Italian”

Download Program

What’s Interesting About This Concert

  • Pianist Awadagin Pratt recently appeared on the Collins Center for the Arts Chamber Music Series and now makes his BSO debut with not one, but two piano concerti, by Bach and Jessie Montgomery
  • Composer Nathan Shields is writing a new work for the BSO as the latest recipient of the Ellis-Beauregard Foundation Composer Award, noted by the jury for his “bold, clearly expressed” music
  • Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 4 was inspired by the atmosphere and colors of Italy, and was what he called the “jolliest” piece he ever wrote