Masterworks I: Celebrating 125 Years

Orchestral Spectacular

January 31, 2021 at 3pm
Collins Center for the Arts
Lucas Richman, conductor
Spencer Myer, piano

A sonic tour de force for an historic occasion

What’s Interesting About This Concert

  • Blockbuster works showcase the full range of the BSO at the start of its 125th season
  • American pianist Spencer Myer plays his signature piece, Gershwin’s Concerto in F
  • Audiences of all ages will enjoy Britten’s Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra

The Program

  • Aaron Copland | Fanfare for the Common Man
  • Melville Andrews| March, “Pride of the Army”(from 1896 BSO opening)
  • George Gershwin | Concerto in F, Spencer Myer, piano
  • Richard Wagner | Die Meistersinger: Prelude
  • Benjamin Britten| Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra

Concert Length: Approx. 1 hour, 40 minutes, including intermission


  • Season subscriptions are now on sale
  • New subscribers save 50%, with 5-concert packages starting at $37.50!