Masterworks IV

Mozart & Mendelssohn

May 2, 2021 at 3pm
Collins Center for the Arts
Lucas Richman, conductor
Jennifer Frautschi, violin

Inspired classics that move us

What’s Interesting About This Concert

  • Two-time GRAMMY nominee Jennifer Frautschi makes her BSO debut
  • Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto in E minor, one of the most popular concerti of all time, has not been performed by the BSO in nearly 20 years
  • Mozart began writing symphonies at 8 years old; the Symphony No. 39 was one of his last ever composed

The Program

  • Felix Mendelssohn | Midsummer Night’s Dream Overture  
  • Felix Mendelssohn | Concerto for Violin, E minor, Jennifer Frautschi, violin
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart | Symphony No. 39  in E major

Concert Length: Approx. 1 hour, 40 minutes, with intermission


  • Season subscriptions are now on sale
  • New subscribers save 50%, with 5-concert packages starting at $37.50!