Masterworks V

Digital ticket: Paths To Dignity: The Music of Lucas Richman

April 28, 2024 at 3pm
Collins Center for the Arts
Lucas Richman, conductor
Mitchell Newman, violin
University of Maine Singers
Oratorio Society

The BSO concluded its 128th season with a celebration of the power of music and community through the music of Lucas Richman.


UBS Pre Concert Talk

  • Listen online to Lucas, Mitchell and Renia discussing the upcoming program HERE


  • Richman | Y’varechecha: World Premiere
  • Richman | Concerto for Violin: Paths to Dignity
  • Richman | Symphony: This Will Be Our Reply

About This Concert

  • Lucas Richman’s new violin concerto is part of the larger Paths to Dignity project created by the composer and violinist Mitchell Newman, using music to connect homelessness advocacy organizations to a wider audience and inspire community change
  • Richman’s Symphony: This Will Be Our Reply is inspired by Leonard Bernstein’s famous quote after the assassination of President John F. Kennedy:
    • “This will be our reply to violence: to make music more intensely, more beautifully, more devotedly than ever before.”

Program Book

Download Program Book