Digital Masterworks I

Bach to Bloch

February 12, 2021 at 7pm
Available Online For 30 Days
Lucas Richman, conductor
Spencer Myer, piano

The 125th anniversary season begins with the BSO strings taking center stage for a unique and moving program released exclusively online

What’s Interesting About This Concert

  • Three works never before performed by the BSO are featured, with conductor Lucas Richman serving as a guide to the concert in this first digital offering
  • American pianist Spencer Myer returns for a rarely heard Bach concerto
  • Composer Florence Price was the first noted African American female composer to gain national recognition in the 1930s

The Program

  • Ernest BlochConcerto Grosso No. 1
  • Florence Price| Andante Moderato for String Orchestra (from String Quartet in G Major)
  • J.S. Bach| Keyboard Concerto in D minor, BWV 1052, Spencer Myer, piano